Irish Election Literature

… what you maybe meant to keep…

Podcast – James Clarke running as an Old IRA candidate in 1944 July 22, 2022

Filed under: Podcast — irishelectionliterature @ 10:41 am
Tags: , , ,

Founded in 1924 , the Party was a split from Cumann na nGaedheal caused by the treatment of Army Officers in the 1924 Army Mutiny. This episode covers the Party as well as the Army Mutiny. The Group were also known as The National League and National Party
  1. The National Group
  2. The Independent Dublin Dream Team Band
  3. Post Office Candidates in Roscommon in 1991
  4. The United Labour Party
  5. Militant Labour

A look at the 1944 General Election  Campaign of James Clarke running as an Old IRA candidate in Laois Offaly. This episode also has a brief history of the Old IRA, their aims, objectives and so on.


From 1944 “The Taoiseach’s Message” -Eamon De Valera -Fianna Fail September 25, 2011

From the 1944 General Election a message to the electorate from then Taoiseach and Fianna Fail Leader Eamon De Valera. In this 1944 Election Fianna Fail gained 9 seats and had an overall majority.
Interesting to see a lot of the message given over to the ills of coalition governments.


Tomas O Dochartaigh -Ailtirí na hAiséirghe -1944 Tipperary July 26, 2011

From the 1944 General Election Tomas O Dochartaigh, Cathal Brughas nephew, running for -Ailtirí na hAiséirghe in Tipperary.  He polled 1,072 votes.
Ailtirí na hAiséirghe were a Fascist style party set up in Ireland in the early 40s. There is a good book on them called “Architects of The Resurrection”.
Theres a decent post about it here
As you can see they were fairly extreme.
In this 1944 Election, the party fielded six other candidates, they were
Eoin O Coigligh – Louth 795 votes
Sean O Dubhghaill -Cork Borough 674 votes
Oisin O Droighneain -Dublin County 607 votes
Gearoid O Cuinneagain – Dublin North West 705 votes
Joseph O’Kelly – Roscommon 1217 votes
Liam Walsh (Breathnach) -Waterford 739 votes

A year earlier in the 1943 General Election the party took its first foray into Electoral Politics fielding four candidates.
Eoin O Coigligh – Louth 585 votes
Sean O Dubhghaill -Cork Borough 1,019 votes
Gearoid O Cuinneagain – Dublin North West 607 votes
Tomas O Dochartaigh – Waterford 943 votes

In 1945 the party contested the Local Elections winning 9 seats on various Local Authorities.

In the 1948 General Election it stood just one candidate.
William Hargadon in Sligo-Leitrim who polled 323 votes.

Many thanks to the sender


%d bloggers like this: