Irish Election Literature

… what you maybe meant to keep…

Jim Fitzsimons , Paddy Lalor -Fianna Fail Leinster 1989 Euro Elections. November 9, 2009

In 1989 both the General and European Elections were held on the same day.
Both Lalor and Fitzsimons were elected here as Fianna Fail held its 2 seats, despite a drop in the Fianna Fail vote since the 1984 Euro Elections.

Laoisman Paddy Lalor, previously a TD for Laois-Offaly since 1961 had been elected to the European Parliament in 1979. Lalor, in his time, had served as a Minister for Posts & Telegraphs and Industry and Commerce.This 1989 election was to be his last. Lalor was a noted hurler and was part of the 1949 Laois team that won the Bob O’Keeffe Cup (Leinster title).

Meathman Jim Fitzsimons, who had briefly been a Minister of State in 1982, had been elected to the Dail in 1977. He stood in four European Elections from 1984 to 1999.



One Response to “Jim Fitzsimons , Paddy Lalor -Fianna Fail Leinster 1989 Euro Elections.”

  1. […] Sport came such GAA men as Barney Rock, Seamus Kirk,  Paddy Lalor,  John O’Leary, Graham Geraghty, Tony Dempsey , ex GAA president Sean Kelly , John […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.