Irish Election Literature

… what you maybe meant to keep…

Leaflet from Conor Cruise O’Brien, Joe O’Connor, Paddy Dunne -Labour – 1973 General Election Dublin North East April 4, 2012

From the 1973 General Election a flyer from Labour Party Dublin North East candidates Conor Cruise O’Brien, Joe O’Connor and Paddy Dunne. Cruise O’Brien was elected with 7,774 votes, Dunne polled 3,106 votes and missed out whilst O’Connor polled 1,451 votes.
Paddy Dunne was a longstanding Labour Councillor and former Lord Mayor of Dublin who stood in numerous General Elections without success. In 1981 he was nominated to the Seanad.
Joe O’Connor ran again a year later in the Local Elections but failed to win a seat.
Conor Cruise O’Brien had first been elected in 1969 and after this 1973 election was appointed to cabinet as Minister for Posts and Telegraphs. He lost his seat in 1977 and served two years in the Seanad. He later joined Robert McCartneys United Kingdom Unionist Party and was elected to the Northern Ireland Forum. He is also well known as a writer of many books and a columnist with the Irish Independent.
Many thanks to the sender.



Joe O’Connor -Independent- Tullamore 2009 LE July 9, 2010

From the 2009 Local Elections for Tullamore Town Council a flyer for Independent candidate Joe O’Connor.
He didn’t win a seat.



%d bloggers like this: